Everyone Looks Better with a SMILE

“Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude.” *

I absolutely love this quote. It reminds me of a time when my attitude was less than favorable. Some of my friends have tried to make me feel better by reminding me of why I was so down all the time, but I don’t like to wander too long down that road. Yes, I’ve had some hard times in life. But I’m sure I could walk down the street and meet ten people with a sadder story than mine.

I’ve talked in the past about “choosing to be happy” and the wonders it did for my outlook on life. I was able to look around and be thankful for everything God had blessed me with, instead of always focusing on my latest inconvenience.

Everyone has bad days. I’m sure we could all write a book detailing our latest chaos. The flat tire when you’re already running late for work … the sinus infection that springs up the exact day of your big presentation … two sick kids and a husband asking why dinner isn’t on the table … and etc, etc.

But guess what? Life goes on no matter what. (Hey, it’s a cliché for a reason!) Your co-workers may lend a sympathetic ear, but do they really need your drama on top of their own? Maybe if we opened our minds just a teeny bit, we would realize that someone else could be fighting a tougher battle. Perhaps they have just learned to not take it out on others.

I wish I could go back in time to the company where I worked before my current job. (The company shall remain nameless, but some of you reading know my true opinion on the place.) I would apologize to my co-workers for always having a bad attitude. I would tell my former bosses that “that person” sitting at my desk really wasn’t me … that I have much more to give than a sourpuss expression and a dramatically huge sigh.

I would tell them that I finally get it. I understand that sometimes, even when you’re not feeling it, you just have to fake it. Doing this doesn’t mean you are fake. It means you are aware of your surroundings, considerate to your fellow office mates and you value the opinion others have of you.

Now I just need someone to stitch that all on a pillow, and I’m set. But I’ll settle for the realization that I live a happier life when I have a good attitude.

*Quote Credit

Photo Credit

8 thoughts on “Everyone Looks Better with a SMILE

  1. Anne Katherine says:

    So true, but not so always easy. But you’re right that we need to look at it differently: I can ALWAYS find someone who has it worse than me, so I usually try to focus on that. And it can always get worse. So we need to look around for all the positive. And smiling does help 🙂 Thanks for the reminder!

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      You are right, it’s not so easy. Lately, I’ve been on the receiving end of all the negativity and it’s affecting my own attitude and behavior. I wrote this more of a reminder to myself, to always think of others before I let my emotions take over. One person can completely dominate an office/class/home and fill it with toxicity.

  2. Anita says:

    Sometimes, having a smile on the outside is the direct cause of the smile on the inside. Great blog, Jen!

  3. Lori Andrews says:

    Jen- Bravo! I wish that I could go back to the old me. I know my mother does. I have found my happiness and joy again but like you said about faking? Well I do an awful lot of that!
    There is always someone in a worse position than ourselves we just get a bit foggy when we can’t see in front of us! Like my mother always tells me, nobody really cares!
    I love to read ur work. I guess maybe I needed to hear this today! 🙂

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Thanks, Lori, and I’m glad this helped you when you read it. I used to always struggle with “I refuse to be fake” while constantly being negative. Wearing your heart on your sleeve doesn’t have to be a bad thing. When someone is constantly bringing others down, or causing a disruptive environment, that is the time to “fake it ’til you make it.” I deal with patients with cancer, HIV, non-healing wounds, etc … they don’t need to feel the effects of my bad day.

  4. talleygilly says:

    Jen – Such a great reminder that although we often can’t control what happens to us, we can control how we react to it. I love this statement of yours: “I understand that sometimes, even when you’re not feeling it, you just have to fake it. Doing this doesn’t mean you are fake.” This is so true, and I find that it works with parenting too–sometimes I’m dreading something just as much as my kids are (the start of the school day, some social event) but if I show them a cheerful attitude, it can be infectious! -Alexandra

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Thanks, Alexandra! I love your point about how this works with parenting as well. I’ve even noticed it with my dogs! The happier I am, the happier they are, and that usually leads to a smoother day/run/playtime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

