Finding Warmth in the Cold

I have a tendency to be a bit of a complainer. I really do try to be more positive, but sometimes the inner “me” just wins.

That being said, I HATE THE COLD.

I grew up in South Jersey and I always hated winter. Spring was exciting since my birthday is in April. Summer often consisted of church on Sunday with the family, then piling in the car with friends to drive down the shore for the day. Mack and Manco’s pizza on the boardwalk was the perfect end to the fun-filled day, and we settled in for the hour or so drive home. Fall meant pretty leaves, a break from the sweltering heat and random summer-like days that made me smile.

But Fall was just the stepping stone to Winter, and I liked to curl up in a ball and pretend that dreaded season wasn’t coming. I never really understood why I hated the season so much and started to wonder if I suffered from Seasonal Depression. Was it the dark morning and dark evenings that made me so blah? Was it the teeny bit of snow we always got, that first looked so beautiful but then settled into black, gross slush? Whatever the reason, I just wanted to hibernate until I could hear the birds chirping again.

When I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, it suddenly made sense. In a nutshell, cold hurts. It reaches its long, chilly fingers into my already aching body and wreaks havoc on my joints. I shiver like I have a fever, and even after entering a warm room, it seems to take forever for my body to stop shaking. Our house could be 70 degrees but I am firmly planted on the couch, covered in a fleece blanket, and sometimes I’m still shivering.

Hey Geese, aren't you supposed to be in Miami by now? Crazy birds...

My husband has discovered that warm, fuzzy socks are one of the best gifts he can give. He can run with the dogs wearing shorts and a t-shirt, and I’m in my raspberry-colored-snow-bunny coat as if I lived in Alaska. I check the temperature like an addict, always praying for that first number to at least start with a 4. 50s and above, I’m happier, but the minute that first number becomes a 3, I start to shut down.

This winter, I think God smiled on me extra hard. It’s been mostly mild and we’ve even had several 60-degree days. I could never live somewhere with frigid temperatures all season, and Alex could never live somewhere that didn’t have 4 real seasons. I’m happy where I live, but part of me still dreams of knocking him unconscious (but in a loving, gentle way), kidnapping him and *SURPRISE!* We now live on an island.

Oooo look, a boat! Honeymoon in Turks and Caicos, never wanted to leave...

I just don’t think we could find jobs. I doubt “sun-bather,” “goddess of the beach” or “lives-with-sand-between-her-toes” will earn me kudos on a resume.

So for now, I hate you, cold. But you won’t be here forever. I’ll snuggle up with my fleece and dream about Memorial Day.

8am and Pinot Grigio on the beach...beat that, January!

6 thoughts on “Finding Warmth in the Cold

  1. Anne Katherine says:

    I don’t suffer from fibromyalgia, but I feel the same about the cold as you do and always have (and my birthday’s in April, too)! I think my body temperature must really just be 1/2 degree less than my husband’s, because we can be in the same room and I will be literally cold to the touch and he will be hot.
    I LOVE your pics! Surely we can find a way to spin the title “sun bather” into something that gets us paid….I’ll have to brainstorm a bit here (as I pull my blanket a little tighter and wait for spring) 🙂

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Yay, we are birthday buddies! I’m glad I’m not the only one who hates the cold. And it’s too funny that you and your hubby are like me and mine, where our body temperatures vary so much. But fibro patients are known for not really having controlled body temps. I literally get hot flashes and sometimes it seems like I’m never comfortable, either freezing or sweating. Keep brainstorming, because I am determined to turn a beach-related activity into a full time job! 🙂

  2. talleygilly says:

    Here in Iowa we are silly enough to complain about the lack of snow this winter. . . but it’s only because we need something to do on long weekend winter afternoons. So this post reminds me to appreciate the warmth for other people who really enjoy it.

    And I agree with Anne, beautiful pictures. I think we need to find you a job as someone who evaluates hotel quality in warm locations (with emphasis on beachside locales) – isn’t there a job like that?

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      I love that idea! But I would have to travel constantly, and I would miss my doggies too much. (Oh yeah, and my husband)! 🙂

      Still, it would better than dealing with insurance companies…

  3. Paula says:

    I am so with you! I absolutely hate the cold! I’m just living for Spring! That beach looks mighty good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

