My Inner Girly Girl

I started out as a girly girl. When I was a baby, my mom tried to put jello on my high chair tray. I looked down my nose at it, scrunched up my face and she swears I said “Ew.” I had a collection of Barbie dolls, loved the color pink and embraced all things feminine.

When I got a little older, I rotated between making my little brother play the Ken doll and playing with his G.I. Joe action figures. Who cares what you’re playing as long as you have a buddy?

Then I found sports. I played softball in fourth grade, and then softball again in 10th, along with my love, basketball. I was still somewhat girly but I had an active side too. I still remember the day in 10th grade when a friend exclaimed “WHY do you not wear mascara? Have you SEEN your eyelashes?”

She applied the mascara, and it quickly became my favorite piece of makeup. Thankfully it was easy to do on my own. I was blessed with good hair because God knew I couldn’t handle something I had to actually style.

Today, I’m a nice balance of a girly girl and a tomboy. I love sports, love to sweat and love being active. I also love to wear dresses and heels, apply a little extra makeup for that special occasion, and I own quite a few pink shirts.

However, this does not mean I am automatically good at being girly. In fact, I kind of suck. My eyeshadow never looks quite right. My eyebrows will remain a mystery. I’ve been using the wrong concealer brush for the past several months. And to this day, if I end up with a bad hair cut, well you’re just going to have to look at Franken-Jen until it grows out.

But there are people who know this! They invent stuff to make our lives easier! There are girly tomboys everywhere! Here’s my collection of faves:

Almay intense I-color shadow stick

These. Are. Awesome. Lately, just getting out the door is a challenge, and all I want to do is sleep. But on days we see patients at work, I have to look somewhat presentable. These are easy to use, show quick results and stay on all day! The trick is, think of it as a crayon. It was taking way too long for me to get a good result, but now it’s a breeze.

 
Essie nail polish

I used to love painting my nails blue!

One of my favorite things about being a girl is: Manis and Pedis! If I had my way, I would get weekly manicures. My husband gave me an awesome spa package last year for my 30th birthday, and I was able to have a manicure at one of those fancy salons (the kind of manicure I would never actually pay for, because it was just too awesome). I was disappointed to not see any OPI colors, but when my manicure lasted a week and survived a fishing trip, I was sold. I don’t use anything else!

Garnier leave-in creme

I have naturally wavy hair, so I only use this for those curly days. I tried it for when I wear my hair straighter, and it worked well too. But I am lost without it on those rainy days when I can’t even imagine using the hair dryer.

Maybelline Full and Soft mascara

I may have been a late bloomer in the eyelash department, but I’ve done my research since then. I have long lashes but they are quite thin with blonde tips. I tried department store brands and always came back to Maybelline. This one in particular is fantastic and never gets clumpy. I’ve been using it for 5+ years.

Organix coconut oil for hair

I am love with the smell of coconut, and being pregnant has intensified this immensely. This product is awesome, but only use a little bit. Yes, there have been days I’ve wanted to dunk my head in the sink and wash it all over again. But when used correctly, this is great for fly-away hair or dry ends.

What about you? Any tips or tricks for those of us who struggle with looking flawlessly gorgeous on a daily basis?

6 thoughts on “My Inner Girly Girl

  1. Essie polish is the best! I need to try that Almay shadow stick, it sounds like just what I need. 🙂

  2. I’d be the last person you’d want to ask for tips or tricks, but I sure love reading about yours. There is always room for improvement in that area for me! The coconut oil sounds divine!

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      I love the coconut oil! I am obsessed with anything that smells like coconut, and I read that non hydrogenated is good for the skin! I’m going to slather some on my preggo belly. 🙂

      I don’t usually offer beauty advice, but figured there must be some chicks like me who struggle a bit. I don’t even like looking perfect, and I’m all about big hair, little makeup and comfy clothes. But some days I have to look more like a grownup. :-/ LOL

  3. talleygilly says:

    Fun post – I love your tips. Have always preferred OPI (on the few times over the years I have had a pedicure) but you and Paula convincing me to try Essie. My favorite product for skin and hair is argan aka moroccoan oil – just a few drops on my skin are great (you can buy the Josie Maran brand at Sephora, or even Whole Foods and other natural foods stores carry it.). Also great for hair.

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Thanks A! I used to swear by OPI, and they definitely have a larger variety of colors. But almost every time I used it, my manicure would last three days, tops. With Essie, I can sometimes make it through an entire week! I remember you mentioning the argan oil before, and I need to try some.

Leave a Reply

