Breezes, Beaches and Baby H

One of the advantages to getting married in the summer is you have a fantastic excuse to be at the beach for your anniversary. We were married on the Chesapeake Bay June 20th, 2009 and quickly jetted off to Turks & Caicos for our honeymoon. Every summer since then, we were in Bethany Beach, DE over our anniversary.

This summer, we had a nine-day adventure planned, and the husband kept saying, “This is our last summer to go nuts before the baby is here!”

Hmph. Perhaps he can go nuts, but I can’t drink, go in the water if it’s too rocky, or manage to stay up past 9pm.

Our first few days were very windy and chilly. I sat in my almost-too-low-to-get-out-of beach chair, wrapped in two towels and shivering, and thought about how I would still rather spend a cold day on the beach than a nice day anywhere else. It has always been my happy place.

Still better than being at work!

Once the weather started to get nicer, I was excited to go in the water. It’s not a complete beach day if I haven’t been in the ocean. But I quickly realized, being at the beach pregnant is a very different experience (along with the rest of life).

  • Your balance is compromised, and one strong wave can knock you on your butt, or worse, your belly! Paranoia won most days over the desire to get wet.
  • Tanning = dry, blotchy, gross skin. You need 100x more sunscreen, you burn in splotches, and you can develop brown spots anywhere. Sexy.
  • Everything is exhausting! You’re supposed to drink a ton of water, but when you are already peeing every half hour, the very thought of schlepping to the bathroom means you end up dehydrated.
  • Sitting under an umbrella for most of the day made me feel like a sell-out. But when the 100-degree-day hit, I was thankful for that shade. (And when I finally made it into the water, it was AMAZING!)
  • When all else fails, eat. Everything always tastes better at the beach, and despite feeling tired, sweaty, huge and hot (and not the good kind of hot), I did not shy away from stuffing my face.

Oh, the food! We ate at our favorite joints in Bethany, had our anniversary dinner at our favorite restaurant, Blue Coast, and managed to make two trips to Rehoboth Beach for Louie’s subs and Royal Treat ice cream. Salt air + beach days + Baby H = Yummy in the Tummy.

Alex even made a new friend on the boardwalk!

His name is Rex

And speaking of Baby H, right before we headed to the beach, we found out that it’s a . . .

GIRL!

Only the finest monkeys for our little monkey

I spent a chunk of vacation time dreaming about what color to finally paint her room. Nine paint samples later, we had a very blotchy wall but no decision. Think, think, think.

Alex had chosen a beautiful blue, but I only wanted it if Baby was a boy. I have never been a fan of all-pink rooms, and blue is my favorite color. I knew we could do blue, but felt limited with shades. We chose a few light, elegant, girly blues, but the last few days at the beach, I couldn’t get that original blue out of my head. After deciding to compromise with bright pink curtains (I don’t want this child thinking “Man, my parents wanted a boy”) we bought the paint, the job was done, and voila!

Pretty colors for a pretty little girl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With a more-than-successful vacation under my belt, I’m starting to get really stoked about finishing her room. We are picking up the glider and ottoman soon, and hopefully the rest of the furniture will be in any day. My goal is to have this room done before our final weekend at the beach in August, if not much sooner.

And this time next year, I’ll hopefully have my new baby daughter on the beach, celebrating her parents’ anniversary, and getting her first taste of the Atlantic.

Life is good.

 

4 thoughts on “Breezes, Beaches and Baby H

  1. talleygilly says:

    So glad you enjoyed (though differently!) your trip to my favorite beach. You made me laugh with –“if all else fails, eat.” So true of my pregnancies as well! Love the blue room with raspberry curtains–a great compromise, which tells me good things about your and Alex’s future co-parenting skills 🙂

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Thanks A! It was definitely different, and after the storms over the weekend, the dogs and I ended up at the beach once again! We crashed Alex’s weekend with his dad, but I didn’t spend much time on the beach. I’m only 5 months but I was uncomfortable! And I wanted to be home, working on the room again. At least it’s easier to leave the beach because we have such exciting things going on at home. I can’t wait until the room is done! 🙂

  2. Anne Katherine says:

    I was wondering how I missed this one, but then I remembered…the storm– the derecho, which left us without internet for almost 2 weeks. No wonder! But anyway, I enjoyed reading about your trip and love the pics. Rex looks like a mastiff we used to have (her name was Virginia).
    And you are so right about how your skin changes w/ pregnancy – those strange pregnancy blotches that are “enhanced” by the sun!!
    Hope you’re feeling well!

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      I can’t believe you didn’t have power for 2 weeks! My work building lost power for 5 days, so I ended up having Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday (the 4th of July) off, which was a nice little vacation. But I kept thinking about all the people who were still out, and didn’t even know you were one of them!! Hope all is restored!

Leave a Reply

