Oh Yeah, I Have a Blog!

Oh heyyyyyyyyyyyy!

It’s been a hot minute since I blogged. So long, in fact, that I’m now using grammatically incorrect phrases like the one you see above. Once you have graduated from “Preggo Brain” to “Mommy Brain,” you basically are grateful you can still form a sentence in English. You better get used to it.

But Baby H is here!

Anna Leigh, aka, Master of the Stink Eye

Anna Leigh, aka, Master of the Stink Eye

Er, well, she’s technically been here a while actually. Almost 3 whole months!

Fuzzy haired and quite happy about it

Fuzzy haired and quite happy about it

She is an absolute joy. We are very blessed with a baby who is a good eater and a good sleeper. What more could a mama ask for?

And even when she’s not at her finest, she is still relatively happy and easily comforted. I’m not going to lie, I’m pretty tired. It’s worth it though, because she makes everything better.

Are YOU looking at ME?

Are YOU looking at ME?

But in the midst of all the happiness, we’ve also been dealing with sadness. Our female pit bull dog, Angel, was put down several weeks ago. She was increasingly losing weight and suddenly got very sick. She had always been a high-energy dog, but there was a change in her anxiety over the past month or so.

She was a little intense when Baby Anna came home, but not in the way you would think. I’m pretty sure Angel thought Anna was her baby. It was precious to see how much she cared. Unfortunately, I think her anxiety was just too much for her. If Anna cried, Angel cried, and sometimes when Anna was calm again, Angel still seemed to worry. But we still found our routine, and Angel was Mama’s little helper.

My girls

My girls

This increased anxiety combined with her sudden and alarming illness left us with a huge decision to make. She rapidly went downhill at the vet and started showing signs that sealed that decision for us. It was the hardest thing I’ve ever done, even with the knowledge that it was the right thing. Her anxiety had now changed her quality of life, and we couldn’t be selfish anymore.

It’s been less than a month and I can finally say that I feel some peace. I welcomed my beautiful baby into the world and within 2 months had to kiss another baby goodbye. I thought Angel would be with us for many more years, running next to her baby sister and always keeping her safe.

Safest baby on the block

Safest baby on the block

Some things are not meant to be. The day I picked up her remains, I cried harder than I had in days. It felt like she had passed all over again, but it gave me closure at the same time. I placed the beautiful wooden urn on our mantel and breathed a little easier. The pain in my heart had been so palpable, I thought with each passing day that it would finally explode. Now, Angel was home once more. Maybe not in the way I would have preferred, but it was the best it could be, and I accepted the peace it brought me.

Forever in our hearts

Forever in our hearts

Since then, I still have my moments, but I am thankful for the short time we had with her. Her last memories were not of a shelter, or of being abused and neglected. We used to joke that our dogs are better taken care of than a lot of children, and the truth is, we love our dogs as if they really were our kids. I will never stop missing her or loving her, and this ache in my heart will never fully disappear.

Thankfully I have this face to wake up to every day.

Anna5

When she’s old enough, she will hear story after story of the big sister who had to leave us too soon. How she diligently sat by her swing and alerted Mama to her cries.

And I will forever be grateful that we did this:

Fred, Anna, Angel.12/13/12

Fred, Anna, Angel.
12/13/12

Our forever babies.

10 thoughts on “Oh Yeah, I Have a Blog!

  1. Alexandra says:

    Oh I am so happy to see a blog from you–how I have missed your writing. You capture so well the intense joy of your new wonderful baby and the incredibly sad departure of Angel (so well named, wasn’t she?). The photo of the pawprints and foot prints of your three babes got me teary, I too am glad you had the foresight to do that!

  2. Jared Karol says:

    Glad to see you back writing, Jen. Congrats! Your daughter is beautiful, and she will give you many years of joy, for sure. So sorry to hear about her older sister too. I would encourage you to keep writing about it all. . . it’s very cathartic (as you likely already know). . . Glad to have you back!

  3. Dayle Lynne says:

    So thrilled to see you writing again! I knew you’d be back when it was time!

    I love your pictures of Anna and Angel, and the foot/paw prints are so incredibly perfect. Such a treasure to hold on to . . . and what wonderful stories you have to tell Anna.

    I can’t believe Anna’s over 3 months old already! She’s beautiful and perfect ❤

  4. What a great idea w/ the footprints! Though I am so sad that you had to say goodbye to Angel. What a lot of change in such a short amount of time! Your newest member is quite adorable!

  5. Shawna says:

    “Once you have graduated from “Preggo Brain” to “Mommy Brain,” you basically are grateful you can still form a sentence” Isn’t that the truth?!

    I’m so sorry about Angel. 😦

Leave a Reply

