Five Question Friday and a Shout-out to Dayle

I stole this from my friend Dayle, who has committed to blog every day in 2013. I realize blogs like this are meant to give regular bloggers a break, and I’ve had a break for…um….well a while now. But hey, I have to get back into the habit of writing, so I’ll jump at this opportunity.

Check out Dayle’s answers here.

 

Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

 

Five Question Friday

1. What holiday do you wish did not exist?

Valentine’s Day. It’s a silly Hallmark holiday, in my opinion. If you’re single, you’re depressed. If you’re married/in a relationship, you feel the need to do something special…but doing something special means spending more money than is reasonable. Dinners out are more expensive, the price of flowers is ridiculous, the menu is usually limited and you are crammed into your table, surrounded by a bunch of strangers who are entirely too close to your elbow.


2. What is your favorite romance/love movie?

I Love Trouble. It’s not a traditional romance movie, but it’s still a love story.

3. Do you make a big production out of celebrating Valentine’s Day?

Not at all. I would rather get flowers on a random day. And chocolate is pretty much a staple in my household.

4. What is something weird you did as a child? (or even now!)

Oh goodness. How much time do you have? To follow Dayle’s example (because this story is too funny not to share), I had an imaginary friend named Judy. When I went to my grandparents house, I always played behind one of the chairs in the living room. One day I came out from behind the chair and announced that Judy had died from drinking too much wine.

5. What makes you love your husband, really LOVE him, you know since Valentines is coming up?

He is my best friend and always makes me laugh. We have a goofy, silly relationship, which I never had before. I thought I wanted the traditional romance, but realized that everyone’s definition of romance is different. He makes me feel secure and safe. He cooks, cleans and never makes me feel like I have to do everything myself.

The family, minus Sir Frederick

The family, minus Sir Frederick

3 thoughts on “Five Question Friday and a Shout-out to Dayle

  1. Dayle Lynne says:

    Memes are fun . . . and can definitely help get you back in the swing of things. I think they serve more of a purpose than just a break from regular blogging. I’ve had meme questions later inspire full posts . . . so there can be added value to the silliness 🙂

    I *love* your Judy story! I can imagine the look on your grandparents’ faces when you told them she died from drinking too much wine!

    And I agree that Valentine’s Day is ridiculous!

    I adore your answer to number 5 🙂

  2. Shawna says:

    Just wait. You will love V-Day once you realize how much fun holidays are with kids. 🙂 When my firstborn was little, I started a tradition of getting her a hearty love shirt every year. I do the same for St. Patrick’s Day, but a green Irish love shirt of some sort. And we decorate, make cupcakes, have “parties.” You will LOVE doing all that stuff when she’s like two and three.

    • Jen Hurowitz says:

      Shawna, you are right! Anna’s friends at daycare gave her Valentines and it made me so happy! Next year she will have to give them out too. I didn’t even think about it this year since she’s so little, but I certainly enjoyed the candy they gave her! LOL

Leave a Reply

